This guide will be removed on April 29, 2022. Please use our new, easier-to-use Toast technical documentation site. All updated content is on the new site.

Accounts Merged by a Restaurant Administrator

You can merge a guest's rewards accounts as an administrator from the Toast administration back-end.

While merging accounts you, must decide whether one or both rewards cards remain active after the merge:

  • Deactivate one card: Rewards points stored in one card are transferred to another and the first card is deactivated after the merge.

  • Combine both cards: Both rewards cards remain active and are linked to the same rewards account after the merge.

For more information about post-merge behavior, see Anatomy of a Post-Merge Rewards Account.

To merge a guest's rewards accounts and deactivate one card

  1. Access the Toast administration back-end, and then select Marketing > Merge Reward Cards.

  2. Enter the card number of one rewards card in the Old Card Number field.

  3. Under the Old Card Action option, select Transfer balance to new card and deactivate.

  4. Enter the card number of the second rewards card in the New Card Number field.

  5. Click Next.

  6. Review the information on the Verify Transfer page. The Before Transfer and After Transfer sections summarize the points balance information of the rewards cards.

  7. Click Submit.

To merge a guest's rewards accounts and keep both cards active

  1. Access the Toast administration back-end, and then select Marketing > Merge Rewards Cards.

  2. Enter the card number of one rewards card in the Old Card Number field.

  3. Under the Old Card Action option, select Combine with new card.

  4. Enter the card number of the second rewards card in the New Card Number field.

  5. Click Next.

  6. Review the information on the Verify Transfer page. The Before Transfer and After Transfer sections summarize the points balance information of the rewards cards.

  7. Click Submit.