This guide will be removed on April 29, 2022. Please use our new, easier-to-use Toast technical documentation site. All updated content is on the new site.

Closing paid checks

The total amounts of checks that guests pay by credit card are often adjusted to include an additional server tip amount. To allow for this manual adjustment of the amount to charge, swiping or keying in a credit card number temporarily places a check in paid status. When the total to charge is final, the check is updated to closed status.

To update a check that is in paid status to its final, closed status you can use these options on a Toast POS device.

  • You can select one or more checks in paid status and close all of them at once.

  • You can select a single check in paid status and close the check.

To close one or more paid checks

To close multiple paid checks you must have one of the access "mode" permissions and the Bulk Close Paid Checks permission.

  1. On a Toast POS device in Table Service mode or Quick Order mode, select Previous Checks.

    On a device in payment terminal mode, proceed to step 2.

  2. On the Paid Checks screen, tap and hold on any check until the options available at the top of the screen change to allow multiple selection.

    Alternatively, from the Overflow menu (the icon), choose Select Checks.

    The select checks screen with an option to Close superimposed on the payment terminal screen with one check tapped and held.
  3. On the Select Checks screen, tap each check that you want to close. You can also use Select All and tap individual checks to deselect them.

    Employees who also have the Edit Other Employees' Orders permission can select other employees' checks in addition to their own.

  4. Select Close. The system updates the status of each check to closed.

To close a single paid check

To close a check you must have the Table Service Mode, Quick Order Mode, or Payment Terminal Mode access permission.

  1. On a Toast POS device, use Table Service, Quick Order, or Payment Terminal mode to access the order screen.

    Employees who also have the Edit Other Employees' Orders permission can select other employees' orders in addition to their own.

    The payment terminal screen with the Close option circled.
  2. Select Close. The system updates the status of each check to closed.