This guide will be removed on April 29, 2022. Please use our new, easier-to-use Toast technical documentation site. All updated content is on the new site.

Closing orders as soon as possible

Restaurant employees typically need access to orders when they are in an open or paid state. After an order is closed, it can be purged from all Toast POS devices to regain the memory used to store it, allowing devices to perform better.

As a best practice, servers should close orders as soon as possible so that they can be purged from memory.

You can view the order details for purged orders from the Toast administration back-end, and resend them to devices if necessary. For more information, see Working with closed orders.