Transferring checks or orders to another server

When a server, cashier, or other employee places an order for a guest, the Toast platform associates the order and its check or checks with that server. If you need to transfer an order or check over to a different server, such as during a shift change, you can use these options on a Toast POS device.

  • You can select one or more checks in open or paid status and transfer all of them to another server.

  • You can select a single order, or a single check in open, paid, or closed status, and change the server.

    Note

    If you select one of the checks in an order that has split checks to transfer, the Toast platform also selects all of the other checks in the order and changes the server for all of them. If you need to transfer only one of the checks, as when guests at a table offer to pay for a single guest at another table, you can select that one guest's check and change its table instead of its server. The system assigns just that one check to the other table and its server.

To transfer one or more checks to another server

To initiate a check transfer, you must have one of the access "mode" permissions. To complete the transfer, you must also have the Bulk Transfer Checks permission or ask an employee who has that permission to enter their POS access code or swipe card.

  1. On a Toast POS device in Table Service mode or Quick Order mode, select Previous Checks.

    On a device in Payment Terminal mode, proceed to step 2.

  2. On the Open Checks or Paid Checks screen, tap and hold on any check until the options available at the top of the screen change to allow multiple selection.

    Alternatively, from the Overflow menu (the icon), choose Select Checks.

    The select checks screen with an option to select all superimposed on the open checks screen, with options including paid checks and new order.
  3. On the Select Checks screen, tap each check that you want to transfer to another server. You can also use Select All and tap individual checks to deselect them.

    Employees who also have the Edit Other Employees' Orders permission can select and transfer other employees' checks in addition to their own.

  4. Select Transfer Checks.

    The Select Checks screen with several checks selected and the Transfer Checks option circled.

    If you do not have the Transfer Checks permission, a prompt for a manager POS access code or swipe card appears. When a manager approves the change, the Change Server list appears.

  5. Select another employee from the Change Server list. You can select any employee who is currently clocked in. The system transfers the order and its associated checks to that employee. New tickets do not print or appear on the KDS.

To change the server for a single order or check

To initiate a server change, you must have the Table Service Mode or Quick Order Mode access permission. To complete the change, you must also have the Change Server permission or ask an employee who has that permission to enter their POS access code or swipe card.

Note

When you follow this procedure, the Toast platform resends the order to the kitchen without marking it as changed. If the check is in paid or closed status, it is re-opened.

  1. On a Toast POS device, use Table Service mode or Quick Order mode to access the order screen. For example:

    • In Table Service mode, select a table with a sent order (appears in green) to open the order screen.

    • In either mode, select Previous Checks, select an open or paid check, and then select Update Check to open the order screen. While you can also select a closed check, as a best practice this procedure should be used only to transfer an open or paid check.

    Employees who also have the Edit Other Employees' Orders permission can select other employees' orders and checks in addition to their own.

  2. From the Overflow menu (the icon), choose Change Server.

    An order screen with the Change Server option circled.

    If you do not have the Change Server permission, a prompt for a manager POS access code or swipe card appears. When a manager approves the change, the Change Server list appears.

  3. Select another employee from the Change Server list. You can select any employee who is currently clocked in.

  4. Select Send. The system transfers the order and all of its associated checks to the selected employee, resends the order to the kitchen without marking it as changed, and reopens closed check(s).