FAQs

Q:

I’m offering both takeout and delivery dining options for online ordering. Why am I only seeing the quote time for one of them?

A:

The quote time for a specific dining option is displayed on the Orders Hub screen only if both of the following conditions are satisfied:

  • You have selected Delivery as a dining option in the Online Ordering page in the Toast administration back-end.

  • You have turned on the Delivery or Takeout toggle in the Toast Online Ordering section on the Takeout & delivery page.

Q:

Can I use the Orders Hub screen in dark mode?

A:

Yes, you can use the Orders Hub screen in dark mode. To enable dark mode on your device, navigate to the Setup screen. Tap on Device Setup > POS Display Theme. Select Dark mode and then tap the Save button.

Q:

Can I manually fire a Scheduled order from the Orders Hub screen?

A:

On an auto-fire configured device, you can manually fire a Scheduled order from the Orders Hub screen by clicking the Fire Now button on the detailed order information screen.

Q:

Can multiple devices use and access Orders Hub?

A:

Yes, Orders Hub can be used on multiple devices.

Q:

What are various auto-fire device scenarios that I may encounter when using Orders Hub?

A:

Orders Hub can only be used with an auto-fire device. The recommendation is to enable auto-fire on only one device per restaurant; however, there are instances where none or more than one auto-fire device may be used in a restaurant.

  • If a restaurant has one auto-fire device and one non auto-fire device: Scheduled orders will appear on both devices, however the Fire Now button will only be available on the auto-fire enabled device. When the order is ready to be prepped, the order moves to the Active tab on both devices. The kitchen/prep station printer automatically prints the ticket on the auto-fire enabled device.

  • If a restaurant has two auto-fire devices: Scheduled orders will appear on both devices and both devices can "Fire Now". When the order is ready to be prepped, it moves to the Active tab on both devices. The kitchen/prep station printer automatically prints on one of the devices. It is strongly recommended that only one device should be configured to auto-fire as there is a risk of double printing as you do not have the ability to determine which device prints the ticket.

  • If a restaurant does not have an auto-fire device: Scheduled orders appear on the device, however the Fire Now button is inactive. When the order is ready to be prepped, the order remains in the Scheduled tab. The order cannot be moved to the Completed tab. The kitchen/prep station printer does not automatically print the ticket. If the restaurant enables a device to auto-fire, the scheduled order moves to the Active tab and the kitchen/prep station printer prints the ticket.

Q:

What happens to Scheduled orders if the auto-fire device is inoperable?

A:

In the instance that the auto-fire device is inoperable, Scheduled orders will stay in the Scheduled tab on the Orders Hub screen. To move orders into the Active tab and ready it for KDS fulfillment, turn on/enable your auto-fire device. Once auto-fire is enabled, all Scheduled orders automatically move to the Active tab, are readied for KDS fulfillment, and new delivery times are provided. If you cannot enable auto-fire on your device, configure a different device to auto-fire.

Q:

Do Order Ready messages still get sent if my Orders Hub device goes offline and then comes back online?

A:

Yes, Order Ready messages are sent once your Orders Hub device has come back online and is syncing orders. The auto-fire device (can be the same as the Orders Hub device) must also be online and firing orders to the kitchen.

Q:

What permission do I need to have to use the Manage Online Orders button on the Orders Hub screen?

A:

To use the Manage Online Orders button on the Orders Hub screen, you must have Throttle Online Orders permission. If you do not have Throttle Online Orders permission, you will encounter an error message when trying to access the Manage Online Orders button on the Orders Hub screen. The error message displays: Manager Passcode or Swipe Card Required. For more information about permissions, see POS access "mode" permissions.

Q:

When do orders clear out of Orders Hub?

A:

Orders will clear out of Orders Hub at 4 AM local device time.